The Presbyterian form of church government places governing authority primarily in elected church members known as elders. The word “Presbyterian” comes from the Greek word for “elder.”

Elders are chosen by the people. Together with ministers of the Word and Sacrament, they exercise leadership and have responsibilities for the life of the congregation as well as the church at large. The body of elders elected to govern a particular congregation is called a session. Their primary charge is to seek to discover and represent the will of Christ as they govern. 

Presbyterian elders are both elected and ordained. Through ordination, they are officially set apart for service. They retain their ordination beyond their term in office.

The session is the smallest, most local governing body. The other governing bodies are presbyteries, which are composed of several churches; synods, which are composed of several presbyteries; and the General Assembly, which represents the entire denomination.


The government of the Presbyterian Church is representative, and it is the right of God’s people to elect not only elders but also deacons. Through ordination, deacons are also officially set apart for their special function in the church.

The ministry of deacons is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress.  

Deacons are organized as a board and their ministry is under the authority of the session. In addition to caring for members and neighbors in need, handling educational tasks, disbursing monies to specific persons or causes, the deacons assist with the Lord’s Supper and accompany the pastor when serving communion to the homebound.

Session Members 2024-2026

Class of 2024

Jane Bies
Alan Smith
Jon Tessier

Class of 2025

Joe Bruette
Lisa Olson
Bobbi Holl

Class of 2026

David Anderson
Fritzi Mevis
Georjeanna Wilson-Doenges

Clerk of Session

Becky Christianson

Deacon Members 2024-2026

Class of 2024

Linda Michael
Judy Knutzen-Nerad
Linda Christensen

Class of 2025

David Young
Kevin Kabacinski
Gifty Berko

Class of 2026

Olivia Crooks
George Hubbard
Sue Russell