Augusta Jeffrey Recognition Award

Augusta W. Jeffrey Rcognition Award

The family of Augusta Jeffrey has presented First Presbyterian Church with a fund from which a recognition award is to be presented each year to a member for outstanding volunteer efforts within the Church and through its programs. Nominees are reviewed by a committee appointed by the Board of Deacons, and an award winner selected by a consensus, according to the information provided on the nomination form. Church members may nominate more than one person. Nominations are accepted each year in February and awarded during a recognition celebration in March.

Areas of volunteer service may include but are not limited to: mission, worship, member care, Christian education, administration, and evangelism. Each year, the winner of the Augusta Jeffrey Memorial Award will designate an honor gift to the area of ministry in which the Church is engaged that they deem most worthy. A list of possible recipients of this memorial fund is provided to winners to choose from, but choices are not limited to the list.

2023 Augusta Jeffrey Awardee

Augusta Jeffrey 2023 Awardee Donna Jansen

It was our pleasure to present the 2023 Augusta Jeffrey Award to Donna Jansen on Sunday March 19th.

Donna has been an exemplary volunteer over the years of her church membership, including serving as Elder, Deacon, Sunday School teacher, Reader, Chair of the Spring Craft Bazaar and Christmas Bazaar, President of the Women’s Circle, Crib Room Coordinator, and more.

Donna was an active member of Martha Circle and Esther Circle, represented our church on the CoCare Neighborhood Association Board of Directors for the Fort Howard Apartment Complex, and helped out with their rummage sales, participated in neighborhood walks in the community to invite and inform neighbors about First Presbyterian Church.

In more recent years Donna has remained active volunteering with our Presbyterian Pantry, 2 for 2 at the U (UWGB Outreach meal), as chair of the Funeral Committee, and collecting travel-size hygiene and toiletry items for shelter residents.

Each year the Augusta Jeffrey awardee designates the $600 award funds to an area of ministry in which the church is engaged and Donna has designated this year’s funds towards Youth Ministry.

Congratulations and a big thank you to Donna!

Past recipients of the Augusta Jeffrey Recognition Award:

2023 – Donna Jansen

2022 – Judy Knutzen-Nerad

2021 – Amy Wittman & Lisa Olson

2020 – Jane Bies

2019 – Kirke & Beth Ryder

2018 – Katheen Ford